exhausted

Aug. 6th, 2015 10:36 pm
faded_lace: (Marius: onoes)
Today was spent helping the new English teachers in my town again, and this time I didn't get home until 9:15 pm. Counting from when I left my house at 8 to go to work, that's a thirteen hour workday! Yeesh. I'm totally wiped and don't really have the energy for anything right now besides getting to bed so I can get up early and get my stuff together for going in to Tokyo tomorrow, so I'm sorry! T__T; I'll be in Tokyo all weekend, but I promise I'll get my shit together starting Monday.

In the mean time, good night, everyone. I'm going to go pass out now. @__@
faded_lace: (Inoo&Hikaru: upward)
one: A few people have asked me to give them tips or an overview for the JET interview, and I realized I might as well post it to my real-person blog (which can also be read at [livejournal.com profile] jetsetjoshu~). So... if you're looking to join JET or are just curious about the process, feel free to check out my write-up here! It's just from my own experience, but I hope it can help someone. ^^;

two: Inoo's blonde hair is the most beautiful thing that ever happened to me. He's gorgeous. I can't stand it. ♥ What a perfect princess.

three: I'm so sore from Gamushara J's Party x___X; I had to crane my neck the whole time, and it's really sore, and my thighs and legs in general are killing me. x___x; Next time maybe I'll aim for the balcony. I'm too old for this, clearly. Johnny's, give me an arena tour any day. I don't want to be close to them so badly that I want to suffer this much for it.
faded_lace: (Makada boys)
This past weekend [livejournal.com profile] yomimashou and I went to Tokyo with the lovely [livejournal.com profile] britkit27 to celebrate her birthday! We sang karaoke together for the first time in a long time, and went shopping! Somehow, while clothes shopping, I actually managed to spend way less than usual despite my favourite brand having a big sale, but... no such luck with the Johnny's shop |D;;;; Basically every group that I like had gotten new photos in at least once (many of them twice) since last time I was there, and somehow... I spent way more than I've ever spent before... in fact, more than twice as much. |D;;;

A photo of the haul )

Unrelatedly but in exciting news, yesterday, [livejournal.com profile] yomimashou got us tickets to Arashi's Waku Waku Gakkou! It will be my first time seeing Arashi live, so I'm really excited! Also yesterday I went to my first Gunma Orientation Committee meeting! I'm really looking forward to working with everyone; everyone there was really nice and there were some great ideas. So all in all, things are looking good right now!
faded_lace: (Inoo&Hikaru: upward)
Well, I survived the apocalypse! Or... something. I had to make my friends only post a sticky, at any rate. XD;

Since last time, not much in my life has changed, but fall semester (trimester?) has come to a close! Last Friday was the closing ceremony, so as of now, I've done one whole semester as an ALT! Crazy. It feels like it went by in the blink of an eye, and I can't believe that in one more semester, my kids will be graduating and changing grades and things... Some of them might even be going to private schools for middle school, in which case I will never, ever forgive them. |D;; But things have been really great, and I really feel like I'm settled into my job. More of my coworkers who don't often speak to me are at least saying good morning, so that's a plus!

On the fun front, the junior concert was two weekends ago! We had been somewhat in anxious anticipation before going, seeing as the magazines have recently been doing their best to break up the Bakaleya guys in magazine interviews, but the Bakaleya guys were definitely the most features and definitely featured as a unit. The high point was definitely Yugo getting his own solo! I was happy to see him getting the same amount of attention as might be expected... though of course, not as much as Hokuto or Jesse (who seems to be the next ~big thing besides Hokuto... idk how Johnny's makes these decisions, but those two are like, awkwardness compounded). All of them are so sweet and so hardworking though... they deserve a debut. Come on, Johnny! Do the right thing.

Now that the junior concert is done, I'm looking forward to the Sexy Zone news year's concert! That will be... after Elaine gets here! Yay! I'm also really excited to finally have my little sister visit me in Japan. I cleaned my whole apartment in preparation! And I can't wait to show her just how great Johnny's concerts are... |D;;;

But for now, it's Christmas! Tonight, [livejournal.com profile] yomimashou and I are going to eat leftovers from last night, when I made pasta salad and crackers with cheese and veggies and we got takeout chicken from Family Mart, a la Japanese tradition, and enjoy the four-hour Kayou Kyoku special. Happy holidays, everyone!
faded_lace: (Chinen&Takaki: intimacy)
There was supposed to be a typhoon today. Instead, the sky is bright blue and it's sunny and 30º C. What the heck, weather.

In other news, last weekend, [livejournal.com profile] yomimashou and I hit Tokyo for a shopping trip! As I mentioned, we went to eat delicious yakiniku with [livejournal.com profile] fencer_x, [livejournal.com profile] imma_holiday, and [livejournal.com profile] amyused, but we also hit Sunshine 60, Mandarake, K-books, and my personal favorite makeup shop in Japan, Skin Food, before we got dinner~ Of course, we recklessly spent our government-funded JET salaries (...er, yes, Japanese people's tax dollars are going towards my wardrobe, hurrah) on adorable new clothes, makeup, and Johnny's goods, but seriously, what more could you ask for in a weekend of shopping? Also, despite the fact that Hey! Say! JUMP doujinshi is incredibly hard to come by, [livejournal.com profile] yomimashou managed to buy a Takaki/Chinen doujinshi that was written during the period of time of the original Hey! Say! 7 Junior group, which was possibly the least disappointing doujinshi purchase ever. It was really awesome, and included a really hilarious short bit about Yamada posing in front of the bathroom mirror for an hour |D;; Also, the artist's rendition of tiny, fat-faced Chinen was great. XD;

In fun things news, we have tickets for next weekend to see On8 on [livejournal.com profile] yomimashou's birthday! While I'm disappointed that there's not a honkouen this season, I'm excited to see an On live for the first time! And then, we managed to get Johnny's World tickets for December 2nd... my birthday! But more importantly, Hikaru's birthday~ So hopefully they'll do something special for that! But sooner than that, we're hoping to be able to go to the Bakaleya movie opening night showing on October 13th! It might already be sold out, but we're hoping that no one in Gunma is that hardcore |D; Unlikely, but we'll see! And... in the least exciting and most embarrassing news, Sexy Summer ni Yuki ga Furu drops on Wednesday, so I should be getting the CD I preordered at Summary, complete with stickers, in the mail sometime this week, hurrah.

And then yesterday, TV decided to be ridiculously awesome for whatever reason, and NiTere decided to show a documentary about Johnny's Juniors narrated by... Tuti. Yes, it was a fandom collision for the ages, and hilarious to listen to Tuti's dramatic narration of how hard it is to be in showbiz as a teenager (though one of the juniors they interviewed, Yasui, was 21. I had no idea he was so old!). The documentary was really awesome and interesting though, so if it becomes available for download, I highly recommend it! Also, four of the Bakaleya boys were on some weird variety show about weird TV shows from around the world, and did some hilarious senpai monomane. It was great... and I'm so happy to see the boys get any publicity they can ♥

Speaking of monomane, randomly today, two girls from first year (one of them is my favourite kid, but don't tell anyone I have a favourite) who came to help the English teacher carry her things to the classroom saw me and came over and made some ridiculous face. I didn't have any idea what they were doing, so I asked what the face was, and they responded "ミランダ先生のものまね!" (an impersonation of you, Miranda-sensei!) |D;;; In the first year class, somehow, it ended up that I always get cast as the idiot in skits because once, I did something ridiculous to make the kids laugh, and so now the teacher plays it up, and I've become the boke to her tsukkomi, or something. |D; I'm not sure how I feel about this, but... I like that the kids like me? |D;;;

Unrelatedly, on the work front, some guy who's conducting research on elementary schools is stealing my class on Wednesday, about which I'm not thrilled. He's not teaching from the book, planning on teaching entirely in Japanese, and keeps saying "you're the assistant, so you can maybe translate into English sometimes..." :| I guess I'll just have to wait and see how it goes, but as the person who bears the brunt of lesson planning and work most of the time in elementary school, I'm so not excited about this or about being told that I'm the assistant who doesn't know how to run a class.

And then on Thursday, all the new ALTs have to go to some sort of seminar... whoopee. So thrilled to sit through MORE lectures. But I guess I get out of work for a day...? Honestly, I don't even think this is a good thing. -____-;

But whatever! It's nice out and I have new clothes and am going to see lots of fun things in the near future (none of which require new uchiwa WHAT WHAT) so I'm happy. :3
faded_lace: (Chinen: musing)
I'm sorry for the late and sparse post again. I've been generally pretty busy still with getting set up and the new school year starting. Hopefully, soon, I'll have time to post at least some of the photos I've been taking here, but in the mean time, I've been keeping a blog here! It's basically aimed at people who don't know much/anything about Japan or fandom or anything and is supposed to be fairly generic, so it's not in any way a replacement for my livejournal, but it does contain some of the details of my life in Japan and photos of things I cook and places I go. In essence, if you're interesting in what someone does as an English teacher in a small city in Japan or want to see photos of foods I make things I see in Tokyo and concerts I go to, it might be interesting, but otherwise, less so XD;

But! In other exciting news, you may have recently seen the middle school competition special of VS Arashi. It was pretty awesome for a variety of reasons, including but not limited to a middle school boy confessing his love for Aiba and a bunch of middle school fangirls freaking out and crying out of fannish delight. But the best part about it was the the winning team included two girls from my middle school! Yes, my students are the national Rolling Coin Tower champions. That's just how great my school is. Today at the new semester ceremony, the principal called them onstage after all the athletics teams who had won awards and showed the school their trophy and medals. He asked them to say a few words about Arashi, to which, after much embarrassment and giggles, one of them said "Arashi were really really cool!" and the other added, "They smelled good." I'm... not really sure about that one XD; But at any rate, it was really excellent to see my kids get to meet Arashi on national TV!

[EDIT] The lovely [livejournal.com profile] ltgmars has made a livejournal RSS feed of my blog! You can now add it to your flist @ [livejournal.com profile] jetsetjoshu!
faded_lace: (Tama: we never give up)
This is just a drive by post to say I'm alive and in Tokyo. Again, I probably won't have internet for about 2-4 weeks, so if I don't answer things, it's not because I'm ignoring you, it's because I'm isolated from the internet, I promise.

Wish me luck in Gunma!
faded_lace: (Juntoshi: captivated)
So, for better or for worse, I signed up for [livejournal.com profile] sk_exchange! I'm the only one who likes the things that I do who's signed up, so at this rate... maybe I won't write. But! I really like the idea of an exchange for senpai/kouhai relationships, so if you're interested, check it out! I was going to hold off from signing up for anything besides [livejournal.com profile] jentfic_remix for right now, since I'm on the verge of moving transcontinentally, but [livejournal.com profile] sk_exchange has a really long period for writing and a really late deadline, so I decided to do it. I was also thinking of doing [livejournal.com profile] self_exchange, but I don't know if I could do it in the time crunch and I don't feel that inspired on any of my own ideas... @____@; I don't know what to do.

But at any rate, [livejournal.com profile] jentfic_remix sign ups are still open for another two days! There aren't that many sign ups this time, and no one for Hey! Say! JUMP or KisuMai, so... everyone should go sign up if you're interested! It's a lot of fun~

In other news... I can't believe I'm moving transcontinentally in a week @_____@; Ahhhhhhhh.
faded_lace: (Sho: pretty)
I've signed up for [livejournal.com profile] jentfic_remix for this cycle! I had so much fun last time, I'm looking forward to this round, too! But there aren't many Arashi (or Hey! Say! JUMP or KisuMai, for that matter) fans signed up, so if it interests you, you should sign up! Sign ups for this round are here~

Also, unrelatedly, I got my contract in the mail today! Soon I'm officially going to be an employee of the Kiryu Board of Education~

Oh, and my archive is up to date!
faded_lace: (Tama: we never give up)
GUESS WHO GOT INTO JET
faded_lace: (Nagayan: :D)
GUESS WHO GOT A JET INTERVIEW.
faded_lace: (Yamada: :o)
By the way, archive is updated! I realized I hadn't added four or five fics from the end of my time in Japan/right when I got back to America, so those have been added as well as the few newest ones.

Also, I handed in the rough draft of my East Asian Studies thesis on Monday! Now just to wait and see how it turns out... @___@ I'm sure it won't be anything unmanageable, but I'm still really nervous. It is, after all, my thesis. I feel the same way about JET; I got the receipt that says that they received my application, and it's crazy knowing someone might be looking at it right now. @____@ But... I've done my part, so I guess there's really not much more I can do XD;

On a brighter note, spent some money at Sephora for my birthday gift to me~ Yay.

Profile

faded_lace: (Default)
faded_lace

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20 212223242526
2728293031  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 07:00 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios